deutsch

Over time, several classical dance styles have evolved on the Indian subcontinent. Bharata Natyam claims to be the perhaps oldest dance style among these, with roots reaching back over 2000 years. However, although it’s contemporary manifestation can not be pointed out easily, there are number of historical artefacts like depictions, skulptures and architecture, connecting the past with the present. Over the centuries, Bharata Natyam, a solo dance form, was developed and supported by kings, and performed by devadasis, in temples and also by court-dancers.

The conception of the way Bharata Natyam is performed today, goes back to four musicians and dance masters of the Maratha Court of Tanjore in the 18th and early 19th century. The four brothers Chinnayya, Ponnayya, Shivanandam and Vadivelu, the Tanjore quartet, basically formed the musical and theatrical structure and repertoire of the Bharata Natyam dance style as it is danced today. However, by the beginning of the twentieth century the tradition of the dance style had fallen apart. Whether due to contempt by society or a decline from within, or both, devadasis were banned from the temples.

Only between 1910 and 1935 various artists as Krishna Iyer, Ram Gopal, Balasarasvati and others took an enormous effort to revive Bharata Natyam back to its respected status. Traditional devadasi artists from old families started to perform publicly again. Also for the first time in history, daughters of families from high casts like Rukmini Devi and Kalanidhi Narayanan started to learn this ancient art form. Rukmini Devi founded Kalakshetra, the renowned dance academy of Chennai, India.

sculpture1

english

Über die Jahrhunderte haben sich verschiedene Tanzstile auf dem indischen Subkontinent entwickelt. Bharata Natyam wird als eine der ältesten dieser Tanzstile gesehen, mit Wurzeln, die über 2000 Jahre zurück liegen. Es ist zwar schwierig, die heutige Manifestation dieses Stils exakt zurückzuverfolgen, unzählige historische Artefakte jedoch, wie Abbildungen, Skulpturen und Architektur, stellen eine Verbindung der Vergangenheit mit der Gegenwart dar. Bharata Natyam, der Solo-Tanzstil hat sich über die Jahrhunderte entwickelt, er wurde von königlichen Familien unterstützt und von Devadasis in Tempeln, aber auch Tänzerinnen am Hof getanzt.

Es gilt als anerkannt, dass die heutige Form des Bharata Natyam, auf ein Quartett von Musikern und Tanzmeistern, des Maratha Hofes von Tanjore im 18. und frühen 19. Jhd, zurückgeht. Die vier Brüder Chinnaya, Ponnaya, Shivanandam und Vadivelu lenkten die musikalische und theatralische Struktur und das Repertoire des Bharata Natyam Stils, in die Richtung, wie es heute aufgeführt wird. Mit dem Beginn des 20.Jhds. jedoch war die Tradition des Tanzstils bereits im Niedergang begriffen. Dies geschah entweder durch eine Herabwürdigung durch die Gesellschaft, bzw. durch einen innerlichen Zerfall, oder beides und infolgedessen wurden Devadasis von den Tempeln verbannt.

Erst zwischen 1910 und 1935 gelang es verschiedenen Künstlern, wie Ram Gopal, Balasarasvati und anderen, Bharata Natyam zu einem respektablen Status zurückzubringen. Zweierlei Linien waren damals am Wiederaufbau tätig, einerseits traten Devadasis alter Familien wieder öffentlich auf, andererseits begannen sich erstmals in der Geschichte, Töchter höherer Kasten wie Rukmini Devi und Kalanidhi Narayanan für diese alte Kunst zu interessieren und diese auch zu erlernen. Rukmini Devi gründete Kalakshetra, die weltbekannte Akademie für Bharata Natyam in Chennai, Indien.

Skulptur1